2009 Olmsted County Fair Fun

county fair rides

It just so happened that I had a full weekend off to myself when the county fair was in town.  I’d be lying if I were to say I’m a repeat customer when it comes to this one…my sister and I definitely are Minnesota State Fair go-ers though…but the two of us, with time on our hands this past weekend, decided to ease into the fair season this year with a teaser trial.

We go for the animals:

cows at the olmsted county fairMooo…so pastorale, wouldn’t you say?  I love the light and dark contrast in this shot…with black and white cows at the same time…

More animals after the jump:


horse at the county fair

donkey at the olmsted county fairThis little buddy had such big sad eyes…

sheep at the olmsted county fair

chicken at the olmsted county fairSomehow, I missed the chicken pens at the fair…was there a chicken showing?  This was the only one I saw that day…someday I’d like to raise a batch of hobby farm chickens…a la Martha Stewart…ones w/ fancy plumage or interesting colors…

rabbit at the olmsted county fair…and then there were the rabbits…lots of rabbits… some for show…

rabbit pens at the olmsted county fair

bunnies for sale at the olmsted county fair…and others for sale…

rats for sale at the olmsted county fair…and if bunnies weren’t your cup of tea…

black bunny at the olmsted county fair…this was my favorite little guy out of all of them…

Leave a Reply

