Hotdish & Bars <3's The September Issue

DSC02994

So I went to see The September Issue tonight, which I’ve been itching to see even before the trailer was released. The movie does NOT disappoint. I must admit, when I wasn’t staring in awe with my mouth wide open because of what was going on-screen, I found myself smiling at how this documentary captures the behind-the-scenes look at Vogue and its assemblage of its 2007 September issue.

Although New Yorkers have had access to this film since it’s August 28 release in NYC, and a wide release date was set for 9/11, I was still skeptical any place in Minnesota would be showing this film. Nevertheless, I looked up showtimes this morning and found two theaters in the area that had begun playing the film since last Friday! I had to zone in for the kill…

DSC02998

Or perhaps I was onto something with my cynicism…behold a visual representation of how Minnesotans receive a film about high fashion:

DSC03000

Okay, okay…it was a Monday night, the 9:45 showing was the last one scheduled, and in the end, one other girl did eventually saunter in to keep me company…but for a moment, I was psyched that I might be able to take in this movie all to myself!

DSC03005

In the end, I don’t get why Anna is labeled as such in the public media…her demands and standards speak of her professionalism and dedication, not some personal vendetta against humanity. And in all honesty, the means by which she carries herself and executes her daily obligations run parallels to leaders in other walks of life…like mine…

DSC03010

What I truly loved about this film, though, was its role as a valentine to Grace Coddington, creative director of Vogue. I can’t get enough of watching her on the silver screen, I’d watch this film all over again just for her. She’s warm and sensible, she’s down to earth in her dealings with her colleagues, and you truly derive a sense that she’s as dedicated to her job as her boss but in her own way.

DSC03014

DSC03033

DSC03044

Along the way, one witnesses the story arc that is Thakoon’s collaboration with the Gap and the CFDA…he’s such a cutie.

DSC03021

Mario Testino gets some good screen time too…he’s such a sexy man…

DSC03042

Back at my apartment, I knew I stashed it somewhere amidst my piles of back issues I can never seem to throw out. And now I know why! After a bit of digging, I uncovered mine own copy of the 2007 September issue!

DSC03064

The images in this issue just took on a whole new meaning having now seen the film. I love it.

Leave a Reply

